White Screen

Is your PC working properly? Not quite? Well, if you need help with computer-related problems, you'll get it here.

Moderators: CPUagnostic, MTX, Celt, Hammer_Time, Sauron_Daz, Tacitus, Anna

White Screen

Postby Phosphorus » Fri Nov 29, 2013 12:42 pm

My monitor Flatron w2241s is now giving me a white screen. Before, it used to flicker then I lowered the brightness and it stopped.

I saw on youtube some videos of repairs and they seems just to plug the cable again... but it didn't work for me. Is there any way to fix it without having tools (I don't have them nor much skill anyway).
Phosphorus
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:33 am

Re: White Screen

Postby Sauron_Daz » Sat Nov 30, 2013 1:20 am

The monitor has a setup screen, does that display?
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34464
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: White Screen

Postby Phosphorus » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:48 am

nope, the menu isn't working
Phosphorus
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:33 am

Re: White Screen

Postby Sauron_Daz » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:55 am

Then I think its broken. Searching in Google reveals that there are some bad soldered spots on the electronic boards inside, or some bad capacitors may be present. So it can be repaired.
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34464
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: White Screen

Postby Hammer_Time » Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:34 am

You could try this fix, dunno if it will fix it or not but if monitor is off warranty you have nothing to lose by trying:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SARGnOExL8c
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least. No good deed goes unpunished...

Image
User avatar
Hammer_Time
Rantmeister Mod
 
Posts: 33537
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Mordor

Re: White Screen

Postby Sauron_Daz » Sun Dec 01, 2013 3:25 pm

He said he has no tools..
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34464
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: White Screen

Postby Hammer_Time » Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:19 pm

Only need a screwdriver to get the cover off , and push the loose chip back in tightly if that is problem ( as shown in the video ), as for resoldering connections, then yes, that is probably asking too much in the way of tools...( soldering gun etc. ). :P

Here are some household tools that nobody should be without! :

http://joyreactor.com/post/564654

Image

My stone/flint tools:

Image
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least. No good deed goes unpunished...

Image
User avatar
Hammer_Time
Rantmeister Mod
 
Posts: 33537
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Mordor

Re: White Screen

Postby Sauron_Daz » Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:42 pm

:lol:
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34464
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: White Screen

Postby Phosphorus » Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:00 pm

I tried that :D It did nothing.

yeah, It's true I should get some tools (btw I studied a bit electronics)
Phosphorus
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:33 am

Re: White Screen

Postby Hammer_Time » Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:50 pm

Ah well, it was worth a try at least...

Do you know any friends that are skilled in monitor repair? If not the local newsgroups or buy/sell forums usually advertise monitor repair for low rates. In Canada I use Kijiji:

Like this:

http://kitchener.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-se ... Z549116965

http://kitchener.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-se ... Z547675858

Best of luck!!
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least. No good deed goes unpunished...

Image
User avatar
Hammer_Time
Rantmeister Mod
 
Posts: 33537
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Mordor

Re: White Screen

Postby Sauron_Daz » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:27 am

Phosphorus wrote:I tried that :D It did nothing.

yeah, It's true I should get some tools (btw I studied a bit electronics)

Then soldering should not be a problem, or was it just theoretical..
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34464
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests