Fan Controller

Join our hot discussion of overclocking, tweaking, cooling and modding of CPUs, graphics cards,mainboards,cases,fans. Squeeze all juices out of your hardware with X-bit's community!

Moderators: CPUagnostic, MTX, Celt, Hammer_Time, Sauron_Daz, Tacitus, Anna

Fan Controller

Postby shybri69 » Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:57 pm

I am looking at getting a fan controller, I will admit I do like function, but flash as well.
I am considering the NZXT LX, but I am just wondering if 6 watts is enough - I have a few of the coolmaster 120mm, but recently obtained some of the Corsair AF120mm and just want to make sure that, as I say, 6 watts is enough, in which case, even though I have read that some of the units blow up or at least smoke, thought I would give one a try, it's either that or the Sentry 2.

Any ideas or thoughts are greatly appreciated and/or if you want to tell me what you are running and why you like it???

Thanks
shybri69

Re: Fan Controller

Postby Hammer_Time » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:00 pm

Hi shibry69

Welcome to the forums! Personally I do not use a fan controller as my Antec 900 case fans already come with inline switches for low/med/high fan settings so that is "good enough" for me, plus I leave the side panel off my case for better cooling.

Some of our forum members do use fan controllers, so perhaps some of them will respond here...

You mention the NZXT Sentry LX fan controller, here is a review on it in case you have not read it already:

http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/nzxt_sentry_lx/

Conclusion:

The NZXT Sentry LX is a nice tool to add to your air cooling system, and it allows you to get the most out of your fans. When it's time to keep your components cool during a gaming session, it speeds up the fans. When it's time to read an e-book, and the PC is idling, it slows the fans down to reduce noise. Moreover, it displays up to five temperatures, directly on your case's drive bays, which is very useful.