Quadro FX 4800 in SLI in Dell Precision T5400 ?

Everything on contemporary and upcoming graphics chips and VGA cards. 3D discussions. Monitors and video editing.

Moderators: CPUagnostic, MTX, Celt, Hammer_Time, Sauron_Daz, Tacitus, Anna

Quadro FX 4800 in SLI in Dell Precision T5400 ?

Postby BambiBoom » Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:25 am

> Able to configure Quadro FX 4800 in SLI in Dell Precision T5400 under Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit ?

2.15.13


Mates,

I would be very interested in a definitive answer : Is it possible to configure a second Quadro FX 4800 in SLI on a Dell Precision T5400** under Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit? Research indicates that I should see in the NVIDIA control panel a resident option to enable SLI, but this option is not available.

** [Xeon x5460 QC @ 3.16 GHz, 12GB DDR2- 667, FX4800 (1.5GB), WD RE4, Win 7 Ult 64, 875W PS. The current driver-(no. 4 tried) is 12/29/12 > 9.18.13.1090].

The T5400 when new (running Vista Business 64 bit) is specified as supporting the then-current Quadro GPU's, including the FX4800 inSLI

The Nvidia site has a listing for current SLI capable GPU's and mentions among others, a feature I would dearly like to have>

> ""SLI FSAA (Full Scene Anti Aliasing): Combines two PCI Express graphics cards with an SLI connector to transparently scale image quality on a single display by presenting them as a single graphics card to the operating system.
Benefits:

SLI FSAA increases the FSAA level up to 128x to remove jaggies from contours of geometries in real time.
Design review and digital mockup (DMU), visual simulation, and scientific visualization applications that require high level of FSAA will benefit from using the FSAA mode. [ > This level of anti-aliasing is one of the principal reasons I changed from a GTX 285 to the FX4800]

[SLI FSAA]

Requirements:

Two identical NVIDIA Quadro 6000, 5000, FX 5800 or FX 4800 graphics cards with SLI Connector
Quadro Plex 7000 and 2200 D2 visualization system ""<

Follows is a list of SLI capable systems- which are current or one generation back>

http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadr [...] stems.html

, and in the Nvidia site "Knowledge Base", this very relevant post >

>"" No option to enable SLI in the NVIDIA Control Panel in Windows Vista and Windows 7".
Answer ID 2914 | Published 02/15/2011 10:27 AM | Updated 03/01/2011 09:30 AM

This is expected behavior with some of the older generation GPUs. These GPUs only support SLI under Windows XP, there is no SLI support under Windows Vista or Windows 7. Refer to the list below.

GeForce:

GeForce 6800 Ultra
GeForce 6800 GT
GeForce 6800 XT (formally known as V)

Quadro:

Quadro FX 1400
Quadro FX 3400
Quadro FX 3450
Quadro FX 4000
Quadro FX 4400 ""<END

Note that the FX 4800 is not in the list of no longer supported SLI GPU's.

Still, I don't see the SLI option appearing in NVIDIA Control Panel. I've seen a number of other posts to this effect, though none mentioning the T5400 and FX4800 specifically.

> Is it possible that the option does not appear unless there is a second card detected?

I was planning to add a second x5460 and more RAM as I'm working on a 6,000 part assembly in Solidworks and have 40+ large (1900 X 1200) renderings (probably in vray) of a 110MB Sketchup model to do. I should be very unhappy if my 2 year old, $1,100 new graphics card - which I specifically bought for SLI capability- is no longer supported in SLI.

Ideas?

Cheers,

BambiBoom

P.S. The recent review/ tests / comparison of the Quadro K5000 this site was extremely well done and useful. Recommended reading for anyone debating Quadro vs. Geforce
BambiBoom
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:02 am

Re: Quadro FX 4800 in SLI in Dell Precision T5400 ?

Postby BambiBoom » Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:36 pm

RE> Unable to configure Quadro FX 4800 in SLI in Dell Precision T5400 under Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit-
> There's a good Reason!


2.15.13

Hello again,

Embarrassing as it is, I've learned today, after only nearly three years' ownership and the long post above- that the Dell Precision T5400 does support dual graphic cards, so as to allow multiple monitors, but those two cards will not run in SLI mode. After a lot of fussing about the past several days, I found this in the simplest way- by comparing online *.PDF's of the T5400 manual and the contemporary next level Precision, the T7400. I should have done this first thing. Probably, I saw too many posts from 2-3 years ago asking how to configure SLI on their T5400 plus the other materials quoted above. Also, the 2- PCIe X16 slots and back brackets on the T5400 just look invitingly to SLI.

What can be done with the T5400, is to add another Quadro FX4800 card- in the 2nd PCI 2.0 X16 slot and connect a second monitor but this would not be running in SLI- I'd two cards running in standard FX 4800 performance. Possibly- I didn't go further into it, if I used the 2- Displayports instead of the single DVI on each card, the dual cards would support up to 4 monitors. Since the time I used a 27" monitor (HP 2711x), I've never again been tempted by multiple monitors- it requires too much time scanning of screen square footage and yardage of cursor movements! - Since my DOS days, I'm also a keyboard shortcut fanatic- whenever I can avoid the mouse.

If I had a T7400- which also has a 1000W PS instead of the 875W of the T5400- and added the special riser card, that configuration could run SLI and benefit from the performance boost of the combination of the two cards. I've seen these SLI riser cards mentioned on forums and on eBay- perhaps they're the forerunner of the Nvidia G-Sync- and they're rare and desirable enough that the price is painful- $80 or more. The next top Precision model, the T7500 does support SLI in the conventional way- pop in the two identical- well, identical within certain limits- cards, connect them with the bridge/connector, enable SLI in the Nvidia control panel and then zoom, zoom, orbit, zoom, pan, and antialias 128X all day long!

Oh well, a bit disappointing but at least now I know that wishful thinking does not SLI bridges build.


Cheers,

BambiBoom
BambiBoom
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:02 am

Re: Quadro FX 4800 in SLI in Dell Precision T5400 ?

Postby Hammer_Time » Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:55 pm

Welcome to the forums Bambiboom. :)

Too bad about the lack of SLi support on your system, at least you found out the reason it won't work all on your own... thanks for the info though, it may be of interest to others thinking of trying to do the same thing on a system like yours...cheers!
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least. No good deed goes unpunished...

Image
User avatar
Hammer_Time
Rantmeister Mod
 
Posts: 33806
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Mordor

Re: Quadro FX 4800 in SLI in Dell Precision T5400 ?

Postby Sauron_Daz » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:34 am

Welcome aboard! :D
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34580
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests