ram problems

Is your PC working properly? Not quite? Well, if you need help with computer-related problems, you'll get it here.

Moderators: CPUagnostic, MTX, Celt, Hammer_Time, Sauron_Daz, Tacitus, Anna

ram problems

Postby diastole87 » Sun Nov 11, 2012 7:47 pm

ok ive had some adult beverages, so bear with me if this has been covered already


i have 4x4gb og gskill 1600 ram

my mobo is a GA-P55-UD6

i have right now 2 of the 4 sticks in, when i put in all 4 sticks my computer will crash occasionally.

ive tested all 4 sticks in memtest86 for 6 hours which was 2.99 tests ( the 3rd test was at 99% and going slow so i stopped it)

no errors.

but like i said when i have 4 sticks an operate win7 normally it crashes when i go do something more intensive like a game or something

any suggestions? is there another test i can run other than memtest86 and prime95? im going to run memtest tonight with just 2 sticks in the other 2 slots, and prime tomorrow with all 16. i hope its not my mobo
If it aint broke.....fix it until it is
User avatar
diastole87
Official X-bit photochopper
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Stupify » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:52 am

what are your rest of the specs and include the model information of the ram?
What goes around comes around with interest!
User avatar
Stupify
Moderator
 
Posts: 9148
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Hammer_Time » Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:26 am

Lots of mobo's have trouble running all 4 slots of ram with hispeed ram... 2 sticks no probs, but fill all 4 slots and the memory controller gets all funky...

As Stupe said, we need the EXACT model of ram you are using please and thank you.

Assume you also have the latest version BIOS for your mobo ( for best ram compatibility ). :)
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least. No good deed goes unpunished...

Image
User avatar
Hammer_Time
Rantmeister Mod
 
Posts: 33109
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Mordor

Re: ram problems

Postby diastole87 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:51 am

GA-P55-UD6 mobo
i7-860 cpu
F3-12800CL9Q-16GBRL ram
850W Thermaltake black widow psu

forgot to run more tests, i was going to put my ssd back in and do another chipset raid on 2 of my black drives but ive found out my ssd is dead :( still within warranty however so corsair might replace it

could down clocking all 4 sticks help? i might try that
If it aint broke.....fix it until it is
User avatar
diastole87
Official X-bit photochopper
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Sauron_Daz » Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:05 am

It could..
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34130
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby DIREWOLF75 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:09 pm

It may also work if you add a minimal overvolting(just one or two steps above nominal) in BIOS. Also, make sure you have voltage set according to the module using the highest!
This has been an objective and completely impartial message from the propaganda bureau of DIREWOLF75. Thank you for reading. Have a nice day.
Image
User avatar
DIREWOLF75
X-bit Goon
 
Posts: 15017
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Isthmus of Baldur (modernly known as Bollnäs), Sweden

Re: ram problems

Postby diastole87 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:56 pm

xmp was not enabled :oops:
seems stable so far now with it enabled and all 16 gigs
If it aint broke.....fix it until it is
User avatar
diastole87
Official X-bit photochopper
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Sauron_Daz » Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:24 pm

That's not enabled by default?
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34130
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Hammer_Time » Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:50 pm

Ah, there you go... enjoy!! 8)
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least. No good deed goes unpunished...

Image
User avatar
Hammer_Time
Rantmeister Mod
 
Posts: 33109
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Mordor

Re: ram problems

Postby Sauron_Daz » Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:22 pm

Still stable?
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34130
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby diastole87 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:08 pm

nope, not stable.

i then upped the voltage to 1.6 and its still crashing. still a few things i am going to try
If it aint broke.....fix it until it is
User avatar
diastole87
Official X-bit photochopper
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Sauron_Daz » Sat Nov 17, 2012 1:24 am

It probably isn't CPU related.
Check your HD, memory.
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34130
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby diastole87 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:33 pm

Sauron_Daz wrote:It probably isn't CPU related.
Check your HD, memory.

Care to elaborate on that?

Edit:
looks like the ram is stable at 1333mHz @ 1.5v

rather than its rated speed of 1600mHz

right now ive got a win7 64 bit and xp VM's running, Photoshop with a bunch of hi res pics open itunes and a few games running in back ground, using 12 gigs of 16 total according to cpu meter gadget.

if anyone has some ideas other than over volting to get it up to 1600 mHz please feel free to drop a line
If it aint broke.....fix it until it is
User avatar
diastole87
Official X-bit photochopper
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Sauron_Daz » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:20 am

Did you try to run the memory at 1600 MHz with only one module installed?
Because now I thing it could be a less then perfect CPU, or the mobo itself.
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34130
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby diastole87 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:37 am

no i did not try it with one, but it was working fine with 2 module at 1600
If it aint broke.....fix it until it is
User avatar
diastole87
Official X-bit photochopper
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Hammer_Time » Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:02 am

diastole87 wrote:GA-P55-UD6 mobo
i7-860 cpu
F3-12800CL9Q-16GBRL ram
850W Thermaltake black widow psu

forgot to run more tests, i was going to put my ssd back in and do another chipset raid on 2 of my black drives but ive found out my ssd is dead :( still within warranty however so corsair might replace it

could down clocking all 4 sticks help? i might try that


It appears that your ram kit is very prone to failure ( rare for G.Skill in general ), check out the buyer reviews of your model of ram on newegg:

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.as ... 6820231315

Pros: Blazing fast and good fault tolerance for OC's, memory has been stable in my gaming rig since I put it in.

Cons: Product shipped with a dead stick on delivery


Pros: running on asrock fatality pro x79 mb at 9's 1t with a 3930 at 4.6

Cons: had to replace 1 stick.

Other Thoughts: if one of your sticks goes bad. (tom) you dont have to replace all of them just buy this (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231313 ) and save yourself from down time..i had to and its been running great ever since.


Pros: Price, speed when working.

Cons: 1 of the 4 has failed. Now I get to be bothered by the return process in which I'll have to pull all of the chips to keep a matched set. In that time my PC will sit useless waiting for parts to come back. Not what I expected from previous experiences with G.Skill ram.

They should provide replacements in advance of the returns.

Other Thoughts: Loved the constant crashes and reboots I was having with the bad chip installed...


So one or more of your ram sticks is faulty...

I would test each stick of ram individually to see which one(s) are bad, then exchange or RMA the bad one...

Sorry I did not respond to your post sooner, somehow missed it when you first posted that info... good luck!!
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least. No good deed goes unpunished...

Image
User avatar
Hammer_Time
Rantmeister Mod
 
Posts: 33109
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Mordor

Re: ram problems

Postby Sauron_Daz » Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:08 am

Wow, that's a high failure rate..
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34130
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby Hammer_Time » Sun Nov 25, 2012 10:14 am

Mebbe not that high... we don't know how many thousands of this kit newegg has sold, these few people might be the rare "unlucky ones"... still disturbing to see though of course... :?
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least. No good deed goes unpunished...

Image
User avatar
Hammer_Time
Rantmeister Mod
 
Posts: 33109
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Mordor

Re: ram problems

Postby Sauron_Daz » Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:28 pm

So diastole87, did you find a faulty one?
We never think of us as being one of Them. We are always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.
User avatar
Sauron_Daz
Evil OverLord Mod
 
Posts: 34130
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: ram problems

Postby diastole87 » Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:03 pm

just started checking them individually now that ive been getting BSOD's with all 4 sticks at a lower speed. they were working just fine for a while but now they just went kaput.

lots more combinations to try, i am just hoping its not my mobo's slots
If it aint broke.....fix it until it is
User avatar
diastole87
Official X-bit photochopper
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest